Menu

Drop Down MenusCSS Drop Down MenuPure CSS Dropdown Menu

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #25 - The Hundredth Queen / Dividing Eden (June Releases)

Okay so this is a bit of a mash up of my normal Monthly Releases post and a Waiting on Wednesday post. So there is only two books coming out in June which I can currently be excited about, so here they are and why I can't wait to read them: 

The Hundredth Queen (#1)  by Emily R. King
 
Pre-order from Amazon (UK)
 
Synopsis from Goodreads
 
As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood’s mountain temple.

But a visit from the tyrant Rajah Tarek disrupts Kalinda’s life. Within hours, she is ripped from the comfort of her home, set on a desert trek, and ordered to fight for her place among the rajah’s ninety-nine wives and numerous courtesans. Her only solace comes in the company of her guard, the stoic but kind Captain Deven Naik.

Faced with the danger of a tournament to the death—and her growing affection for Deven—Kalinda has only one hope for escape, and it lies in an arcane, forbidden power buried within her.

In Emily R. King’s thrilling fantasy debut, an orphan girl blossoms into a warrior, summoning courage and confidence in her fearless quest to upend tradition, overthrow an empire, and reclaim her life as her own.


Why I Am Waiting

Firstly, PRETTY COVER ALERT!!! Just adore this cover the contrasting colours the be simplicity, the font it all works so well together. So obviously the synopsis has also drawn me into wanting to read this book. It starts off sounding like a Asian influenced version of Rags to Riches (Cinderella like) story but as you read on it begins to sound more like a dystopian, fight to the death and take over the government plot line. Either way this book has spiked my interest and I look forward to read it.
 
Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau
 
Pre-order from Amazon (UK)
 
Synopsis from Goodreads
 
From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?


Why I Am Waiting

Again another pretty cover a bit of mix between the Gilded Cage and Carval? This book just sounds like a web of political intrigue and power plays, while everyone tried to win the crown or scrape what ever power they can from the mess left in the shadow of the assassins.

1 comment:

  1. Yay for The Hundredth Queen, and it's my pick this week too! It looks AMAZING! Hope we both love it :)
    Here's my WoW

    Amy @ A Magical World Of Words

    ReplyDelete

Would love to hear from you!