Menu

Drop Down MenusCSS Drop Down MenuPure CSS Dropdown Menu

Wednesday, September 06, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #30 - September Releases (1st - 10th Sept 2017)

Yesterday was a major release day in the YA fantasy publishing industry. Three highly anticipated sequels in the same week!! So firstly I wanted to talk about those as well as some of other releases from both well known authors and some lesser known ones. Looks like a bankruptcy month (if I can justify buy them all to myself?)
 
 
 Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas
 
In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.
 
Release Date: 5th September 2017
 
Why Am I Waiting?
 
Okay so like a lot of YA fantasy readers I fell in love with the Throne of Glass series and have enjoyed  watching the world expand, the secrets come out and the relationships develop. However, it is  Celaena Sardothien who I have become attached to as a character and the prospect of 700 pages in this world without her just doesn't have the same appeal, the two previous books I have trudged through the other POV's to get back to her story, so I am not as excited about this book as the others in this series. Yet, saying that, I am looking forward to seeing how/if this book will link in with The Assassin's Blade novella's. I am also happy that Sarah J. Maas did what she wanted with this book, if that's the way she felt she should go with her series, then I salute her for putting aside her planned direction and following what she felt Chaol needed to share.
 
 
Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Mellissa Bashardoust
 
Synopsis from Goodreads
 
Frozen meets The Bloody Chamber in this feminist fantasy reimagining of the Snow White fairytale

At sixteen, Mina's mother is dead, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone—has never beat at all, in fact, but she’d always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king’s heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she’ll have to become a stepmother.

Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen’s image, at her father’s order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do—and who to be—to win back the only mother she’s ever known…or else defeat her once and for all.

Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything—unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story.
 
Release Date: 5th September 2017
 
Why Am I Waiting?
 
I think it is probably this whole I deal of reinventing a fairy tale which has me interested in this one. It also suggests a complex relationship between step-mother and step-daughter. Some of my fellow book blogs loved it and praised it's uniqueness, so I've gotta give it a go!
 
 
 
Godsgrave (Nevernight #2) by Jay Kristoff   
 
A ruthless young assassin continues her journey for revenge in this new epic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff.
 
Release Date: 7th September 2017
 
Why Am I Waiting? 
 
So, it's not that I am waiting for this one (was blessed enough to get a ARC of this book), but more that I need to get into a fantasy reading mood. I don't know about you, but for me my genre of reading goes through fazes and at the moment I am in a contemporary and urban fantasy mood. And Nevernight (see my review here) was quite a heavy fantasy book but I hope to get it read soon all the same, so keep an eye out for a review later this month (hopefully!)
 
 
 
 
Fireblood (Frostblood Saga #2) by Elly Blake  
 
In this action-packed sequel to Frostblood, the future of Ruby's world and a court ruled by the love of her life depends on the uncovered secrets of her past. Perfect for fans of Red Queen and Throne of Glass.
 
Release Date: 7th September 2017
 
Why Am I Waiting? 
 
This is another sequel I have been waiting for, but to be honest I haven't been waiting for it with bated breath. I read the first book beginning of this year (see my review here) and although I gave it 5 stars and I really enjoyed this book, it overly unique. I do hope to read this book this month though, to see if Blake can direct this story off somewhere new and exciting .
 
 

 
*** 
 
Any new releases coming out that you are waiting this Wednesday for?

1 comment:

  1. I really hope to get to Fireblood! I just read the book last month, and though I didn't like it as much as you did, I thought it was entertaining! Like you though, I'm not dying to read the book. Here is my WoW!

    ReplyDelete

Would love to hear from you!